As a rule, most of the new features are received by current smartphones with the latest versions of mobile OS. But there are exceptions to this practice – recently Google expanded the security system for older devices running Android no older than the sixth version.
Users often install many applications that they use from time to time or completely forget about them. Meanwhile, mobile software usually has permissions to access the camera, contacts or personal data of the smartphone owner. Programs can also run in the background, accessing sensitive information.
In the fall of 2021, Google introduced a feature that automatically revokes system permissions from rarely used software. At that time, it could only work with Android 11 or later versions of the operating system. Now you can activate it when using old revisions of the “green robot” (6.0 and newer).
Since official patches for outdated OS versions are no longer being released, owners of older smartphones need to enable this useful feature in the settings of the Google Play Protect service. It will reset permissions to access sensitive data from applications that have not been used for several months.